Skip to content

Publishing Text: Workshop and Goals

April 4, 2014

This past weekend, I attended a workshop on Publishing Text for a Digital Age, an NEH-funded Institute for Advanced Technologies in the Digital Humanities in collaboration with the Open Philology Project at the University of Leipzig and the Perseus Project at Tufts University. While there, I presented part of the Judith project, highlighting the Omeka archive and discussing my future goals with textual editing. I had an excellent time, met some great people, and received some extremely helpful feedback. So this post should be considered a public thanks to all involved.

My biggest goal on the textual editing side of the project is to create a single-text edition and facsimile of the single Anglo-Saxon manuscript of Hrabanus’ Commentarius, Arras, Bibliothèque Municipale, 764. Ultimately, I hope to create a dual facsimile and encoded text (XML/TEI) presentation. So far, I’ve been working from microfilm (in the Anglo-Saxon Manuscripts in Microfiche Facsimile series), comparing it to the most recent critical (collated) edition of the text (by Simonetti)–but to do a proper job, I need high-resolution images of the manuscript. All of this means that I’ll need to obtain digital photographs well as permissions to publish them online (under a CC license, open access). While I continue marking up the text that I’ve created from the microfilm, I’ll also pursue my manuscript needs. It’s proving a bit difficult, since the Bibliothèque Municipale in Arras is a smaller archive, and I’m still trying to follow leads to get in contact with the proper people to help me.

Having said all that, here are the slides that I used for my presentation, giving a general outline of what I said:

Those who attended the Publishing Text workshop were very helpful in their suggestions about all of this. So I’m getting back to my work with renewed vigor.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

