Skip to content

Digital Tools on the Cheap at NERCOMP

June 6, 2014

I spent yesterday at a workshop on “Doing Digital Humanities on a Shoestring Budget,” hosted by the Northeast Regional Computing Program. Since NERCOMP hosts events with a digital humanities bent to them, I’ve known about it for a while now, but hadn’t attended an event. A while back I was invited to present based on my work on this project, and I was happy to accept. It was a great event, exemplifying what I like about small, regional conferences in digital humanities: collegiality and collaboration. I met a number of people who were interested in my project, wanted to know more, and had suggestions for me.

What I presented was a hybrid of sorts. First, I gave an overview of my project (with which readers of this blog are familiar), talking about where I started and how I got to where I am now. Then I offered some general thoughts about what I’ve learned about digital humanities and digital projects generally, based on my trial-and-error experiences with this project. Here are my slides (in pdf format), which I think stand on their own without my extended discussion of individual points.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

